F. Kenneth Eichwald

In a close race for the Sandoval County Commission seat in District 5, incumbent F. Kenneth Eichwald beats challenger Taylor Pinto, according to unofficial results.

Eichwald took 52.24 percent of the votes, beating Pinto, who had 47.76 percent of the votes, in the Democrat primary.

With no Republican candidates, Eichwald secured the seat in the primary election,  as he did in 2016.

In the Sandoval County clerk Democrat primary race, Anne S. Brady-Romero won, with 49.46 percent of the support. Opponents Bob Perls took 33.70 percent, and Ignacio Pedro “Pete” Salazar took 16.84 percent of the votes.

Lawrence D. Griego ran unopposed in the Republican primary for county clerk.

Democrat incumbent Eileen Garbagni did not run for re-election, as she’s served the legal limit of two terms.

Brady-Romero and Griego will run against each other in the general election come November.

Jennifer “Jennie” Taylor

In the race for the Sandoval County treasurer Democrat nomination, Jennifer A. Taylor won with 62.71 percent of the votes. She beat Ronnie A. Sisneros, who took 37.29 percent of the votes. 

Republican candidates for treasurer Benay P. Ward and Carlos Sanchez ended the night with Ward taking 57.45 percent of the votes, and Sanchez getting 42.55 percent.

Incumbent Treasurer Laura Montoya was elected in 2012, and again in 2016. In the 2020 primary, she ran in the Democratic race for the 3rd Congressional District nomination, losing to Teresa Leger Fernandez. Montoya took 9.23 percent of the vote.

Benay Ward

Sandoval County Commission District 2 candidates ran unopposed within their parties.

In the general election, Democrat Leah Michelle Ahkee-Baczkiewicz will challenge Republican incumbent Jay C. Block, who was elected 2016 and has served as vice-chairman on the commission since 2019.

Sandoval County District 4 candidates also had no opposition inside their parties.

Democrat Alexandria C. Piland will challenge Republican incumbent David J. Heil, who was elected in 2016 and is the commission chairman.

The election results are unofficial until canvassed.