At last Saturday’s District 1-5A wrestling tournament, district champ Cleveland High School (4-0) had six individual champions and district runner-up Rio Rancho High (3-1) had four.

The top three wrestlers in each weight class receive bids to today’s state tournament at the Rio Rancho Events Center, and then on Feb. 13, “wild cards” were announced to fill out all 14 weight classes’ brackets.

You can get tickets at

The Storm have wrestlers in all 14 divisions; the Rams have 10. The championship round starts at 6 p.m. See more at

Here are the city’s qualifiers, with Storm matmen listed first (district champs are in bold face; top-4 seeds for state in parentheses):


Boys State Qualifiers:

106 Roman Luttrell (2); Isaiah Simmons

113 Zerrik Harrington; Marcus Williams (1)

120 Josh Ortega; Roberto Cordova

126 Isaac Bachicha ; Andre Jiron (2)

132 JP Montoya

138 Kyle Davy; Gabe Valles

145 Joe Coon

152 Juju Rojas (4)

160 Damien Bachicha (3; recently won his 100th match)

170 Josh Coon (3); Gage Victor

182 Harris Momeh; Javier Camarena

195 Kymani Castillo (1); Noel Larimer

220 Nathaniel Perry; Gage Dain

285 Gabe Marquez; Michael Santos


Girls State Qualifiers:

100 Elena Cordova, CHS (4)

114 Ashley Smith, CHS  (3)

126 Heaven Handy, CHS  (3)

185 Marisa Cerrillo, RRHS (4)

Takedowns: At the Feb.16 New Mexico Activities Association’s board of director meeting, the board voted in favor of a proposal to reduce the number of weight classes and voted in favor of a proposal to change the qualifying procedures for state wrestling beginning in 2022-23.