Four local authors won first-place honors in various categories of the 2022 New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards competition.

Two hail from Rio Rancho: Don Bullis (for “No Manure on Main Street”) and Kim Vesely (“50 years of Balloon Magic”).

One is from Corrales: Andrew Bourelle (“48 Hours to Kill”).

One is from Placitas: Mary Carter (“All Good Tova Goodman”).