Fifteen city student-athletes were named to the postseason All-District basketball squads recently.

Ladies first

Cleveland High, which finished the regular season as the 1-5A runner-up, had four first-team players recognized: Allyson Frank, Bridgett Ignacio, Brenna Wolfe and Kindyll Sandoval.

Rio Rancho High, which finished in third place, then beat the Storm in the district semifinal before losing to regular-season champ Volcano Vista, had a trio of first-teamers: Halle Peterson, Alice Wilkinson and Isabella Schalow.

In addition, each team had one honorable-mention selection: Aubrey Jaramillo (Cleveland) and Olivia Bergsten (Rio Rancho).

Volcano Vista’s Jaelyan Bates was named the district’s Player of the Year; her teammate, Kennedy Brown, the daughter of the VVHS boys’ coach, was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

Now the boys

Cleveland and Rio Rancho each had two first-team players: Keagan Caton and Jamal Bynum of the third-place Rams, and Antonio Abila and Cole Savage of the fifth-place Storm.

The Rams’ Jayden Johnson and the Storm’s Daniel Steverson received honorable=mention acclaim.

Ja’Kwon Hill of VVHS was named the Player of the Year. Coincidentally, two of his older brothers, twins Marcus and Marquise Hill, and older sister Jade Hill played at Cleveland High.


Here’s a trio of All-District honorees (from left): Cleveland’s Brenna Wolfe and Aubrey Jaramillo keep their eyes on Rio Rancho’s Alice Wilkinson in their meeting last week in the Thunderdome. (Herron photo)