Not surprisingly, a lot of Cleveland High School football players earned All-District honors.

That’s to be expected when you win the District 1-6A title for the third year in a row (and the fifth time in the last six “fully” played seasons) and make it all the way to the state championship game. Oh, and having one of the state’s top running backs and most-recruited linebacker don’t hurt, either.

Eight Storm players were named to the prestigious first team, in addition to the District 1-6A Offensive Player of the Year (Harris Mbueha) and Defensive Player of the Year (Stratton Shufelt): defensive end Psalmon Kegler, linebackers Isaac Medrano and Chuka Tutman, offensive linemen Gabriel Marquez and Ben Linfoot, quarterback Jordan Hatch, wideout Jaden Davis and kicker Miguel Quiñones.

Second-teamers for the Storm were defensive lineman Nathaniel Perry, defensive backs Malachi Jaramillo and A.J. Manning, linebacker Marcus LaCuesta, tight end Jon Baca, and offensive linemen Robert Sabado and Moses Sparks.

Honorable mention selections were offensive lineman Mason Jones, defensive lineman Charles Birch and defensive back Michael Haynes.

Runner-up Rams recognized

Six Rio Rancho High School football players were named to the first team: defensive backs Andrew Gustafson and Diego Montaño, defensive linemen Xavier Provencio and Michael Cordero Gill, wide receiver Anthony Raymer and punter Noah Nelson.

Linebackers Ryan Brown and Elijah Garabedian were on the second team, as were quarterback J.J. Arellano, running back Rayce Ramirez, defensive lineman Michael Jacques and offensive lineman Adam Potter.

Nelson was also an honorable mention selection at defensive back, as were linebacker Jacob Lesperance and offensive lineman Jack Warble.



Storm standout Harris Mbueha.